Moving cows on a beautiful May day!

This morning the kids and I decided to take a much-needed break from deep cleaning the house, editing pictures, and cooking for large groups of people.  Handsome Husband had asked me last night if I wanted to come with to move cows from their current pasture over to the Rock House Ranch at the base of Elk Mountain.

At first all I could think about was the things I needed to be doing in the house.. and about how much work it is to get two children under age 3 out the door and on four wheelers.  Exhausting.

But then I decided that the benefits far outweighed the struggles!  We were all in dire need of some fresh air and sunshine and I am SO glad we went!

Scarves, boots, and hats that are too big for their little heads... what a good cattle drive is made of!  Here they are watching Auntie Sophie saddle Stormy.
Scarves, boots, and hats that are too big for their little heads… what a good cattle drive is made of! Here they are watching Auntie Sophie saddle Stormy.
Aw, Stormy!
Aw, Stormy!
This is how the kids and I do moving cows. *thumbs up*
This is how the kids and I do moving cows. *thumbs up*

IMG_8600

I wonder who used to live here?
I wonder who used to live here?
Henry'll tell ya how it's done!
Henry’ll tell ya how it’s done!

IMG_8646

Oh, be still my heart!  The two men in my life.
Oh, be still my heart! The two men in my life.
"Don't take my picture, Mommy!" she said with her cute pudgy little hand hiding a huge grin.
“Don’t take my picture, Mommy!” she said with her cute pudgy little hand hiding a huge grin.
Alana on Maria, Elk Mountain in the background.
Alana on Maria, Elk Mountain in the background.
That Sophie, quite a hand.
That Sophie, quite a hand.
Sometimes I even get on a horse!  It's rare, but it happens!
Sometimes I even get on a horse! It’s rare, but it happens!
Poppy on Chisolm.
Poppy on Chisolm.
Henry REALLY likes cattle drives!
Henry REALLY likes cattle drives!
That there is a herd of cattle!
That there is a herd of cattle!

IMG_8741 IMG_8736 IMG_8730

Henry loves ice cream! Thanks Nana!
Henry loves ice cream! Thanks Nana!
Ice cream at Nana's was a well deserved treat!
Ice cream at Nana’s was a well deserved treat!
One thought on “Moving cows on a beautiful May day!

Leave a Reply

