I’m back! Introducing…

WOW!  Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve written.  After my last post about the Stock Show and Rainbow Bible Ranch, things just got very busy with calving on the ranch, and just “life in general!”

March 21 I went into the hospital with a nasty stomach bug that caused me to be severely dehydrated.  The dehydration brought on labor contractions, so I sat in a hospital bed for a couple of days hooked up to IV fluids and painkillers.  Fun stuff, I tell ya.

I spent the next couple of weeks doing my last “getting ready” steps of preparing our household for the arrival of Baby Boy Paulton, due to arrive April 21.

4:00am on April 9, I woke up with back pain and went out to the couch to sleep it off… Long story short, they were not just back pains, but LABOR PAINS!  Three hours and three minutes later, at 7:03am (in case you didn’t do the math), our son was born!

(Side note:  Only 3 hours of labor, when you have an hour and half drive to the hospital, and when you spent half an hour on your hair and makeup… AND had to stop for gas on the way to the hospital… Well, let’s just say next time I won’t be so concerned about my hair looking perfect for a final “Look-at-me-at-the-hospital-I’m-going-to-have-this-baby” picture.  Which I didn’t get.)

From the time we walked into the Emergency Room, tossed my iPhone onto the counter to show the receptionist that YES I am ready to have this baby NOW, look-my-contractions-are-two-minutes-apart-on-this-contraction-counter-app, and I can barely walk…

…to the time that our sweet boy was born, was only 24 minutes. Talk about cutting it close.  But hey, that’s the way to do it.  As my Handsome Husband’s grandmother would put it, “Just like spitting out watermelon seeds.”  🙂

Everybody, meet Harrison John Tucker Paulton, or Henry for short.

Just a few minutes old.  Sweet mommy and son moments.
Just a few minutes old. Sweet mommy and son moments.
A full head of dark hair like his Daddy.  7 pounds, 18.5" long
A full head of dark hair like his Daddy. 7 pounds, 18.5″ long
Harrison and Great-Grandma Ellen.  Isn't she beautiful?
Harrison and Great-Grandma Ellen. Isn’t she beautiful?
Harrison and one proud Grandma (Travis's mom)
Harrison and one proud Grandma (Travis’s mom)
This picture makes me giggle.  Little sumo wrestler!
This picture makes me giggle. Little sumo wrestler!
One thought on “I’m back! Introducing…

Leave a Reply

