Lots of good groceries, new photo equipment, and a nice day at home.

Yesterday my little family and I got up before dawn thought about showing its lovely face and headed to town.  Travis was in the semi, as he was heading off to haul hay.  Millie and I followed a short while later in our vehicle.   I was supposed to leave 20 minutes or so after him to time our meeting just right (he had to drop the truck off at a repair shop, and while it was there we were to go out to breakfast together)…. HOWEVER, I put wood in our wood stove furnace right before I was ready to walk out the door and HELLOOOOO smoke!  The wood was apparently too wet.. or .. something.. and so I was delayed about 30 minutes waiting for the issue to be resolved.  And then, instead of smelling like I had just taken a shower, I smelled like wood smoke.  Many apologies to anybody who came into contact with me.

It is an hour and a half trip to the main city where we do the majority of our ranch and bulk shopping, so when we do make it to town we make every minute count.

The sky was beautiful in the early morning!
The sky was beautiful in the early morning!

We went out to breakfast at a lovely little coffee shop called Alternative Fuel.  Travis had both styles of quiche; Millie and I shared an Everything Bagel breakfast sandwich and a fruit and yogurt parfait.  Mr. Handsome had a Caramel Macchiato; I had hot chocolate.  Then (*sigh*) we parted ways; Travis back to the truck garage and off to haul hay; and Millie, Kaiser (our faithful German Shepherd pup) and I to do some much needed shopping.  (Don’t ask me why I brought Kaiser along. I’m not entirely sure myself.)

Have you ever taken a toddler and a 5 month old (very large) puppy to town with you at the same time?  Talk about a workout!  Let’s just say after 8 hours and multiple stops and shops later… I was more than ready to head home!

I didn’t get home until nearly 11:00pm, and I still had nearly $200 of groceries to unload.  But let me tell you… loading up my previously bare refrigerator with lots and lots of fresh veggies (mushrooms, spinach, bell peppers, cucumbers, potatoes, onions, jalapenos, avocados, celery, tomatoes…) and fruit (apples, bananas, mangos, pineapple); and dairy products that I had run out of (sour cream, cream cheese, cheddar cheese, yogurt, string cheese, heavy cream…), was so refreshing!

Today was “Rapid City Recovery Day” – typical after a monthly shopping trip.  I used the morning to relax and file paperwork; the afternoon to play with Millie and set up my new photography backgrounds (yay!); and the evening to make up a batch of our favorite cookies as a reward to myself for spending 3 hours on paperwork. 🙂  Recipe coming soon!

Be sure to check out what we had for dinner, too — Hidden Gem Smoothies and English Muffin Pizzas!

Leave a Reply

