Moooooving cows!

Yesterday my Little Princess and I got to go with Mr. Handsome to “help” move cattle.  Okay, in reality, I was just there to snap photos, spend time with my man, and open an occasional gate or two.  But “helping” sounds so much more responsible. It was a beautiful morning.

This amazing sky lasted nearly all day.  It was like God was giving us an 8 hour sunrise.
This amazing sky lasted nearly all day. It was like God was giving us an 8 hour sunrise.

The little girl didn’t last much longer after I snapped the above photo.  Getting all dressed up in her pink cold-weather gear is hard work!

What a good daddy.. leading the cows while his daughter naps on his lap!
What a good daddy.. leading the cows while his daughter naps on his lap!

The pastures on our ranch are broken up into multiple pastures in order to allow for rotation of the cattle, so as not to overgraze.  “Pasture Management.”  Moving cows in the winter is so much easier than in the summer.  In the warm months, green grass is plentiful and the cows are in no real hurry to leave their current pasture.

In the winter, however, the dead, brown grass isn’t as appealing, and they get picky.  They become quite accustomed to having their daily ration doled out to them on a silver platter (or unrolled on the ground.. however you want to look at it!).  So, when they see the feed truck coming with a bale of hay on board, they literally come running.  We can actually just beep the horn on an empty pickup and they’ll wander up.  It is kind of funny when people passing through on the county road try to move the weaned calves OUT of their way by honking their horn.  Want 100 weaned calves to surround your truck? Just beep your horn! (Okay, I admit… I was one of those people when I first married into the ranching life.  I’m not ashamed.  Travis did laugh at me though.)

"Hay.. for ME?! Woo-hoo!"
“Hay.. for ME?! Woo-hoo!”

We moved the cows about 5 miles yesterday, through two pastures and over 3 miles of county road.  Mr. Handsome, Little Princess and I in the feed truck leading the way, and 3 of our family members… Travis’s dad, Bill; his sister, Alana; and her husband, Arthur, on four-wheelers behind.  (We do use horses on our ranch as well, but this was a quick, easy move and A & A had to get on the road shortly after.. so four wheelers was a faster option.)  Oh, and Bess.  Bess is Arthur’s dog and she goes everywhere with him.  She would be sad if I left her out.

Look at that beautiful line of cows!
Look at that beautiful line of cows!

I just love tagging along with my wonderful husband as we (read: he) does ranch chores!  I get to see him in his element, and he is so good about teaching me how to do things without making me feel totally inadequate.  I can’t help but think about how our children are going to be such amazing ranchers because they don’t know any differently, and also because they have such an awesome and patient father.  I’m sure Millie will be moving cows on a horse (or four-wheeler!) of her own in just a few years.

I can’t wait to share those pictures with you!

Leave a Reply

