A new year, a new blog.

I have always wanted to have a blog.  This year, 2014, is the year to start.  The life God has blessed me with is increasingly busy, interesting, and wonderful.  How many girls go from high heels and skirts and the luxury of the grocery store a few blocks away… to denim and dirt roads, and a 24 mile trek into town for a gallon of milk?

Our life on a third-generation cattle ranch may not be easy or convenient, but it is our lifestyle and it is what we love.  I traded endless girls’ nights for priceless family nights; shopping malls for cattle calls; cell service for clear, starry night skies.  It was a pretty good deal, I think.

My handsome husband
My handsome husband

And this is the man that captured my heart and lured me back to the Black Hills.  He is caring, gentle, patient, strong, smart, talented… and did I mention incredibly handsome?  He is the love of my life, my husband, my partner, my best friend.  I am thankful to God every single day that we were brought together.  Someday I will tell you the story of how we met, how he pursued, and how we fell in love.

This blog will serve as a platform for me to share our ranching lifestyle with you.  You will find out that, yes: we do, in fact, have indoor plumbing and electricity.  No: we do not get postal service every day of the week (my family couldn’t believe it!).  And yes: this old-fashioned, rugged, strenuous, beautiful lifestyle is completely and utterly “worth it.”

Ranching in the West
Ranching in the West

I look forward to sharing stories about our daily ranch work; the animals that we strive every single day of the year to care for; how we endeavor to be as self-sufficient as possible; and my favorite part – my “job” on the ranch – cooking for “The Crew,” my family, and my friends.

All for God’s glory,

Kendra

9 thoughts on “A new year, a new blog.

  1. Oh Kendra, This is amazing! What a beautiful portrayal of your life in the Black Hills. I just loved it and will look forward to following your journey in 2014. ~ Donna Stolhammer

  2. Well done!! You are going to be an amazing advocate for our wonderful,hard-working, 24-7, variable lifestyle of ranching and farming. Thank-you. Will be fun to follow along! 🙂

Leave a Reply

